My New Year’s Resolution

I’ve been noticing my drive to write has been diminished lately. I don’t know if it’s because some of my end-of-the-year posts weren’t able to be finished or if I just haven’t had the time. I guess I’ll eventually get over it.

2013 was a bit of a tough year for my blog. I was down for months which halted a lot of my creative flow, however, I was still very excited to get back into it. When it comes to my blog, there’s one resolution I’ve thought of thoroughly: don’t be afraid of short posts. A lot of the time, short = incomplete, in my mind. I’ve always been a very in-depth writer, so when short articles mosey their ugly noses, I’m appalled! I feel as though my thoughts weren’t explained enough or there wasn’t enough detail. However, this year, I’m going to let myself gradually let go of that standard. Sometimes, short and to-the-point is the best way to go with some topics.

What about my real life resolution? Well, considering I suffer from serious anxiety issues, I can get really worked up over situations that are minuscule in another person’s opinion. Panic and anxiety attacks are things I couldn’t even wish upon my worst enemy! With my last year of high school ending and the waiting period for whether or not I’m accepted into the 4 colleges I’ve applied to begins, I need to relax. After the many months of stressing over SATs, college applications, scheduling visits, and just narrowing down my college list, I must allow my mind to chill. I stress far too much–and I just don’t deserve all that. This year, I’m seriously trying to take grasp of my anxiety.

There’s actually one last thing I wanted to mention… This time, it has to do with my blog. This year, I’m seriously considering starting a “Roundtable” for my blog. For those of you who aren’t familiar with that term, a Roundtable is a discussion between many different people on one particular topic. I’d love for any fellow bloggers(and even non-bloggers!) to join in! The topics will vary between different genres and artists–it’s certainly up to you to decide on which ever Roundtable discussion you’d like to participate in. Also, they probably will not be very frequent–I’m thinking maybe 1 or so a month. So, how’s that sound!? If you’re interested, please leave a comment below with an email easily contactable. Or, just send me a quick email at: sky_blue_leaves@hotmail.com. It’s my personal one so it’s constantly checked!

Here’s to another year under the spell!

~ Kioku

One thought on “My New Year’s Resolution

  1. Pingback: Recommended Community Reading: January 11, 2014 | Idolminded

Leave a Reply

