Nothing to See Here…

Whoops, Kio’s a little backed up, huh? Sorry, sorry. I’ve been distracted with school and being sick, so blogging hasn’t been on top of my priority list. To add onto the load, Tsunku has decided to release all the good stuff while I was on my little “hiatus.” Thanks, Tsunku. You’re a real pal. Regardless, let’s get down to business with these PVs, previews, and covers!

Crazy Kanzen na Otona is C-ute’s upcoming single ready to release on April 3rd. About a week ago, the PV was unexpectedly released before anything else. Many fans have been going bonkers over the “maturity” and “sexuality” in the PV, but I dunno, I’m not all that impressed.

The video really only has two shots: a dance shot and a barely close-up shot. The dance shot is thankfully filmed in an all black room with equally exciting lasers. At some points, the backdrop of the dance shot is switched with the backdrop of the barely close-up shots: something that looks very similar to the LED bars we saw in Wakuteka Take a chance. There is also one other location which seems to be in a very brightly lit room with the girls dressed in white in front of a mirror. It’s extremely untouched throughout the whole video.

Somehow people are reeling about how this video just oozes sex. I really have no idea how. Seriously, I’ve seen S/mileage with sexier videos than this(not really). There’s nothing particularly “sexy” about the video other than the unnecessarily revealing outfits. The dance isn’t really all the sex-driven either–Aitai Aitai Aitai na had a nastier looking dance than this.

Overall, I get this overwhelming feeling of incomplete. I feel like this is just a loosely thrown together version and we’ll be getting a better version soon. Unfortunately, that’s not the case, which makes me even more disappointed with this video. There’s no intricate camera work, no subtle blurs, no nothing. I can’t find anything in this video to make it stand out. It’s actually pretty boring. The only thing I truly like is the song–and that’s only really because that screeching siren sound that comes around only when they don’t sing. C-ute is already filled with extremely attractive girls; I really don’t think they need to try so hard to look lustful or desirable, which is what this PV screams to me.

Let’s talk about the covers…

C-ute  - Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Regular)C-ute - Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Limited B)C-ute - Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Limited C)

Nice! Finally, Hello! Project is continuing to take my “you can never go wrong with black” advice. It fits perfectly into Regular‘s well positioned photo. On top of that, the text is perfect for the feel of, not only the cover, but the song as well. Limited B is one of the “oddball” covers that combines the colors and shapes extremely well. And look! Everyone looks gorgeous! Limited C is a little less interesting than the others but still has nothing wrong with it.

01. Crazy Kanzen na Otona

02. The Treasure Box

03. Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Instrumental)

C-ute - Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Limited A)

I thought that was string at first, but it ends up being barbed wire! Ooh, even more enticing. The splash of color works nicely here. Nothing to bold and just subtle enough. It’s a greatly photographed picture.

01. Crazy Kanzen na Otona

02. The Treasure Box

03. Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Instrumental)

04. Kanashiki Heaven (Suzuki Part Ver.)

05. Kanashiki Heaven (Okai Part Ver.)

06. Kanashiki Heaven (Instrumental)

These “part” versions are quite curious. I’m even more surprised that it’s Okai mixed in there and not the usual pushed pair of Airi and Maimi. Does this mean this is a solo version or just her parts from the song?

C-ute - Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Limited D)

Ooh! I wasn’t expecting this. Very subtly seductive yet still very cute. I love the cotton candy look of the smoke/clouds. Very well done.

01. Crazy Kanzen na Otona

02. Chikyuu Kara no Sanjuusou [Maimi Yajima, Airi Suzuki, & Chisato Okai]

03. Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Instrumental)

C-ute - Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Limited E)

LOVE THIS. Somehow I’m so hypnotized by the girls in the letters, HA. Perfect pop of color, nothing clashes, perfection.

01. Crazy Kanzen na Otona

02. Watashi wa Tensai [Saki Nakajima & Mai Hagiwara]

03. Crazy Kanzen na Otona (Instrumental)

I’m pleasantly surprised by these covers. Considering the overdone costumes and underwhelming PV, I expected something as equally wrong for covers. But I must admit, these are a whole group of the best covers Hello! Project has done in a long time. I can honestly say I can’t pick one as a favorite.

Reina Tanaka’s graduation single has a name: Brainstorming / Kimi Sae Ireba Nani mo Iranai. Above is the dance shot version to the second A-side.

First thing’s first, what the hell is up with these pee dresses? Not only is that color hideous but the actual style… What. Who wears dresses like that other than fucking flappers?

Whatever. Anyway. Let’s move on. The setting itself isn’t all that bad. The silver washes out a bit but it’ll do. Plus, the lights behind the drapes adds some flavor to the otherwise bland backdrop.

So about this dance. I feel as though Morning Musume has been a little too focused on formations lately that actual dance moves have been thrown out the window. Look, I like formations as much as the next idol lover, but don’t do one dead dance move for a good 10 seconds before moving to the next formation. I thought Brainstorming‘s dance was just a tad dead, but compared to this, Brainstorming feels like I’m watching America’s Best Dance Crew. Some moves in this are done for a good 3 seconds too long. It’s boring to watch.

Is anyone as disappointed with this song as I am? I was hoping for something a little more idoly rather than a sad excuse for a K-pop album intro. It literally just feels like a bunch of talking over some annoying electronic swipes and beats.

Ugh. Morning Musume, you were doing so well.

Juice=Juice - Watashi ga Iu Mae ni Dakishimenakya ne

Juice=Juice’s first indies single is already ready for release! April 3rd is the release date and it is entitled Watashi ga Iu Mae ni Dakishimenakya ne. A sweet and simple cover with a cute touch. Notice each girls’ fruit? Do you also notice the headphones/earbuds are attached to the fruit? Adorable! Let’s take a listen to the preview!

Hey, not too shabby! Of course, the girls still need a little work live, but for what they’ve been doing, this is pretty breathtaking. Also, I gotta mention that the song sounds like a blast to listen to. Funky and upbeat yet still maintaining a certain seriousness that I could definitely get into. That saxophone is putting in work. Awesome start, Tsunku!

Ever miss your graduated favorite members? Of course you do! For me, I’ve been missing my precious Eririn(along with Linlin and Junny) but hey, here she is!

Eri Kamei & Takahashi-san!She recently visited Takahashi for her stageplay The Wedding Singer. She’s dyed her hair dark, I see. I honestly like her light brown hair better but hey, Kamei-san is gorgeous regardless <3 I’m so happy to finally see her again after over 2 years!

 

3 thoughts on “Nothing to See Here…

  1. Pingback: Recommended Reading: March 16th, 2013 | Idolminded

  2. I see Juice=Juice being awarded the New Artist and Best New Artist like S/mileage.
    That is how excited i am for this new group.

  3. I absoutely love the opening of C-ute’s new single with Saki starting off the dance and I’ve grown to love the outfits. The girls all look great but I still think Chisato should have brown hair again or maybe try a hair colour that was reddish-brown (I’m no good with hair colours). Absolutely the single cover. Disagree with you about preferring AAA to this, I believe this song could be more powerful and it has better choreography in comparison to AAA (the dance break in that was weird).

    I wasn’t feeling JUICE=JUICE’s song so I hope they get a better second indie single >_<

    Upon first seeing the Kimi sae Iraba dance shot, I first thought “Renai Hunter much?” at the beginning. Or more importantly, it seems they are not only recycling dance moves but the sets and outfits. Nah, Brainstorming is better in my opinion than this. The song does not even appeal to me either. This is the first track since Pyoko Pyoko Ultra that I do not like. It’s also weird for Haruka to be wearing that hat with that dress as well in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

