Let’s Have A Good Timee~!

I know, I know. I’ve been a bit MIA lately. But no worries! I’m back with Berryz’ newest PV! Even though I saw it literally the moment it was uploaded(somehow, I just happened to be on YouTube at the time), my review is finally here. So, how do the Disco Berryz fair in this video?

All of you should already know that I’ve been a fan of this song since its very first performance rip. I mean, come on! It’s funky, energetic, and super catchy! These are the types of songs that Berryz seem to do the best. As much as I enjoyed WANT!, it just wasn’t really Berryz’ forte; not to mention, the song got old rather quickly. I love seeing the mature Berryz every now and again, but I’ve come to realize that this youthful and bubbly aura is their strong point. On the topic of the song, Berryz’ “disco fever” songs always end up being my favorites. Ryuusei Boy, Mythology ~Ai no Album~, and Tomodachi wa Tomodachi Nanda! are a few of funk-inspired songs that I’ll never get tired of. Let’s not forget that Berryz will be promoting this song in Thailand, so it’s a very listener-friendly song to perform in another country.

Don’t get me wrong, I can’t say this song is absolutely perfect. In the studio version, I was a little surprised by how loud the vocals were–and I don’t think I’m the only one who noticed. In the live versions, I feel as though the volume of the girls’ singing melted seamlessly into the instrumental while the studio version kind of sounds a bit rough around the edges. I’m also not a big fan of the extreme echo they put on Miyabi’s dialogue. I think it’s really distracting and takes away from the song itself. Let me also say that I think the instrumental break is downright the worst part of the song. It’s very dull and the distorted vocals feel like useless filler. I think we can also all agree that the autotune during this part is not enjoyable. The girls sound extremely nasally and unnatural.

A lot of bloggers have been quick to point out the quick “falsetto” syllables. Fact of the matter is, they’re there for creative effect. Those lines are supposed to sound like turntable scratches! You know when you scratch a record and it makes that high-pitched skrrr? That’s what the girls are performing with their voices. I think it’s extremely entertaining and adds quite a cool flare to the vocals.

Now that the song’s review is out of the way, let’s move onto the PV. If you haven’t already been around, you should know that not many fans are overly impressed by the video. When I first saw it, I loved it! I thought it was upbeat and it kept me watching. But after a few watches, I can understand where people were coming from. It’s not Berryz’ most exciting or powerful music video, no doubt about that. It’s not as intricate or surprising as WANT! was. It does bear some similarities to other Berryz videos. But all in all, I still really like it.

The colorful setting distracts from the otherwise painful-to-look-at costumes. Honestly, I kinda forgot about how ridiculous that zebra print was. I was too worried about the girls disco-ing and “having a good time~.” Let’s not forget that the CGI adds a bit more flare to the rather lonely disco set. It has the average H!P video formula: dance-shot mixed with some close-ups and a varied version of the close-ups.

Unfortunately, the video looks like an updated version of club-influenced Dakishimete Dakishimete. And after watching the two videos back to back, I realize they’re almost identical. I wish the producers could have given Asian Celebration more of an edge over Dakishimetex2. Despite the flashier setting and older looking gals, Asian Celebration’s video has nothing on Dx2. Dx2 has a much better dance(AC’s dance is…messy) and much better outfits. Sadly, this “updated version” really couldn’t keep up to Dakishimete Dakishimete’s standards.

Despite the setbacks of the song and video, I still really like this release. Of course, I think there’s potential to be much greater visually-wise–but we gotta make do with what we have. Considering the fact that this will be promoted in places other than Japan, I have no doubt that it’ll be a fairly strong release by my girls.

One thought on “Let’s Have A Good Timee~!

Leave a Reply

