I’m at a loss for words…

I really… I’m really not even sure how to react to this…

I’m Minegishi Minami from Umeda’s Team B of AKB48.
I’m very sorry to have caused enormous worry to members, fans, staffs, my families and a lot of other people with the article in the weekly magaizne that is published today.
(Deep Bow)
As the 1st generation member of AKB48, the group that has formed in 2005, it’s my responsibility to always behave as a good role model to juniors. I deeply regret what I did this time. It was a thoughtless deed and I was completely lacking self-awareness as a senior member.
My brain blanked out and I’m still unable to figure out what to do, what I can do. But after I saw the magazine a little ago, I couldn’t help but doing something. And I decided to shave my head without consulting any member or staff at my agency.
Although I don’t think I would be forgiven by doing this, the first thing that I went through my head was that “I don’t want to leave AKB48.”
This is a place where my dear members, who I spent my blossom of youth together, are. And it’s unimaginable to even think about leaving the group where I’m with so many wonderful and sweet fans.
I understand it’s wishful thinking, but if it’s possible, I would like to still be AKB48′s Minegishi Minami.
This is all my fault.
I’m truly sorry.
I will leave my hereafter to the hands of Akimoto-sensei and management.
Though I haven’t been able to tidy my mind up, but I just wanted to tell my current feeling to you.
Thank you so much for listening to me.
(Deep Bow)

courtesy of aramatheydidn’t.

I literally broke down and cried while watching this video… And I’m not much of a crier when it comes to idols…

Minegishi...

In a very recent issue of Shunkan Bunshun(we all know this magazine crushes hopes and dreams), Minami Minegishi was pictured walking out of her former co-star’s, Alan Shirahama, house on January 17th, 2013.

Y’know, you’re gonna hear a lot of bullshit about idols and dating and how they should be allowed and how they shouldn’t be allowed and whatever. Look, I get it, idols can’t date. I’ve accepted it a long time ago and the topic will come up in a different post, so I’m not going to bother going into that damned subject that has been beaten to death. But I’m going to go into this…

Where the fuck is the evidence? Okay… you pictured her leaving the house but she was never pictured going in. That’s what I don’t get. How do we even know she slept over? How don’t we know that she was there earlier in the day and left when they pictured her? So, now idols can’t have guy friends? And wait… They can’t have boyfriends, they can’t have guy friends, but they’re totally allowed to have girlfriends and “date” inside of their own group? What the fuck is that? Isn’t that the same as dating a fucking male?

But I digress… I’m angry that this magazine only has a couple of pictures to back their story up. I’m also angry that Miichan had to resort to the ultimate type of punishment for a female…

Shaving her head.

In America, we laugh because we have retards like Britney Spears do it only because…she was fucking nuts at the time. But in Asia, this is serious business. The last time I heard about one shaving his head was in the case of Block B when Zico shaved his head in order to repent his wrongs. If you didn’t already know, shaving your head in Asia is the highest form of apology–it means that you are seriously aware that your actions were nearly unforgivable and disgusting and that you are accepting that you should be punished.

But this is a girl we’re talking about… Hair is one thing that makes us feel like a girl. It’s one thing that can ruin or make our day. Now Minami has none…because of this bullshit…

As of right now, I’m not exactly sure how to explain my thoughts on this and if I should treat it the same as Rino’s scandal… At the end of the day… Minami is now a Kenkyuusei…

I just needed to get my initial thoughts down… I’ll try to think this out more at a later date…

3 thoughts on “I’m at a loss for words…

  1. Nice post! Not even a fan but when I saw the video pop up, I had to take a look because I have noticed certain AKB members but to shave her hair off in an act of forgiveness to the public does seem extreme from a Western view. I do not believe for one second she shaved her hair off according to her, there must have been some “influence” from her company.

    The demotion is really sad because I heard she is a 1st generation member as well. I heard this AKB member and the EXILE member are getting treated the same by idol fans but obviously with the girl’s video and how in most idol relationships, the girl seems to get the blame and negative treatment more than the male, the attention seems more on her not only in Japan but also in the West. The BBC and the Guardian over here in the UK have picked up on this story since it’s seen as human rights in the West. To be honest it deserves to have international attention and pressure but only if international media do not make assumptions and read up from a translated Japanese article.

    Japan (and Korea too) need to fix that when idols hit certain ages, they would like to date, meet the other (or same) sex and go even further in their relationships. Idols are people too. The media and immature fans need to grow up and realise the idols are humans too.

    • I, personally, can’t go as far as to say it violates human rights. I mean, it might, but I can’t say that is something that I…advocate.

      I wish that Japan(and Korea?) could tweak this rule and make it so a certain age has consent to date, but the fact of the matter is: this is idol business and that’s how it’ll stay.

      • It’s the West that see it that way, not particularly my view :3

        I added Korea cause they have similar issues with this but a bit more extreme from the fandom side >__<

Leave a Reply

