Quality Over Quantity

It’s been a while since I last posted an update on our chicas in Hello! Project. All of the groups have been very active and there are plenty of upcoming releases. Ready? Let’s go!

Along with Yuuka leaving on the very last day on 2011, Risa is set to graduate in the spring. Can I just say… I CALLED THIS?? I knew Risa wouldn’t be able to last more than a year. I love Risa, but sometimes we have to let them move on. This is Risa’s statement:

I, Niigaki Risa, will be graduating from Morning Musume。 and Hello! Project with this year’s Spring tour. I had been thinking about graduation myself, for about a year, I had thought about graduating with Takahashi Ai-chan… but with the new members joining and everything, I postponed it just a little bit. After my Morning Musume graduation, I’ll be studying full force in acting; I feel like I want to challenge myself with experiences in theater and dramas that I couldn’t have experienced while I was doing group activities. But, with these months I have left in Morning Musume, I’ll be giving it my very best as leader!

Boom. She even wanted to leave with Ai-chan. How does that not prove my point that she can’t be without her other half!? She wants to go into acting, which is awesome. I can’t wait to see the different dramas and shows she decides to do–Risa is the best PV actress of all MoMusu, IMO. I really support Risa’s decision and I hope she does great!

Above are the PVs to Buono!’s latest double A-side single, Hatsukoi Cider / DEEP MIND. It was released this past Wednesday, January 18th. The single debuted at #6! That’s fantastic compared to 2011’s singles. This is an awesome way to start the new year, Buono! Covers and tracklisting below.

1. Hatsukoi Cider

2. DEEP MIND

3. Hatsukoi Cider (Instrumental)

4. DEEP MIND (Instrumental)

Note: Not really diggin’ the pink mafia girls outfits, but they’re not hideous.

Note2: Miya’s hair is so short! Take off that hat! >__<

Note3: The settings for the PVs are really nice. I think they did a great job with both.

Note4: Liking DEEP MIND the best!!

Above is the adorable PV to Morning Musume’s upcoming single, Pyoko Pyoko Ultra. It’s set to release this Wednesday, January 25th. After watching it fully, I don’t think the PV is that bad. I was kind of expecting something like Maji desu ka Suka!–less centered around cute and more so upbeat and fun. However, I don’t see that much wrong with this single. It’s not that bad of an entering single for the 10th gen, but it’s not the best graduating single for Risa(IF it is). The PV isn’t meant to be all that “high-budget” anyway, so anybody complaining about it being cheap needs to shut up. They want you to focus on the girls and the fun, cute aspect of everything–not the cardboard and colored pencil background, it’s supposed to be like that! Would you really rather prefer flashing lights and dark glass? The fuck. Tracklisting, promos, and covers below.

1. Pyoko Pyoko Ultra

2. Kanashiki Koi no Melody

3. Pyoko Pyoko Ultra (Instrumental)

Note: Chicken duck costumes! Yay! :D

Note2: The song is alright, nothing too special. I like the chorus the most.

Note3: Look, guys! I’m actually defending an annoyingly cute single!

Chotto Matte Kudasai! is S/mileage’s upcoming single set to release on February 1st. The PV was released less than a month after Yuuka’s last single was released. Quite frankly, the PV looks super rushed and I’m not feeling it at all. You think PP Ultra was bad? This is worse. Falling on a glass barrier? What?? Writing on a glass barrier? Overused! One girl x 100? THE FUCK? Disappointing, rushed single.. Tracklisting, covers, and promos below.

1. Chotto Matte Kudasai!

2. Namida GIRL

3. Chotto Matte Kudasai! (Instrumental)

1. Chotto Matte Kudasai!

2. Chance Tourai!

3. Chotto Matte Kudasai! (Instrumental)

1. Chotto Matte Kudasai!

2. S/mileage Singles Gekiatsu Remix

3. Chotto Matte Kudasai! (Instrumental)

Note: People say the costumes remind them of MM’s Onna to Otoko. Quite frankly, they’re both bad, so idgaf.

Note2: Dance looks so unbelievably uncoordinated. They look like they tried 15 times before they actually got a good take.

Above are the covers to C-ute’s upcoming 7th album, Dai Nana Sho -Utsukushikute Gomen ne-. It will release on February 8th, 2012. Below is tracklisting and promotional pictures.

1. Momoiro Sparkling

2. Hirorijima Shitakatta Dake na no ni

3. Ike! Genki-kun [Mai Hagiwara]

4. Sekaiichi HAPPY na Onna no ko

5. ZUNTAKA MARCH ~Hitorashiku Ikiyou~

6. Tokai no NEON ga Odoroku Kurai no Utsukushisa ga Hoshii [Chisato Okai]

7. Kagayake! Houkago [Saki Nakajima]

8. Shiawase no Tochuu

9. Amazuppai Haru ni Sakurasaku

10. Seishun Gekijou [C-ute Version]

Note: Kind of reminds me of Berryz’ 4th album, but honestly, a lot cuter. ’50s diner theme~

Note2: I love Mai’s hair!!

Note3: Argh. Airi center in covers -__- At least she has no solos! :D

In other C-ute news, above are the costumes to their 18th single, Kimi wa Jitensha Watashi wa Densha de Kitaku(aka A Way Too Long Title). They kind of remind me of 11WATER / High-King, but I like them. The shoulder pad pieces are adorable, too. It was originally set to release on March 7th, but was pushed back until April 18th. No other info yet.

Above is the confusing PV to the first track of Erina Mano’s upcoming double A-side, Doki Doki Baby / Tasogare Kousaten. This single is set to release on February 22nd, 2012. No covers yet. Tracklisting below.

1. Doki Doki Baby

2. Tasogare Kousaten

3. Doki Doki Baby (Instrumental)

4. Tasogare Kousaten (Instrumental)

In other Mano news, her third album, More Friends Over, is scheduled to release on March 28th. No other information has been released.

Alongside Erina’s upcoming single, Berryz will release their 8th album on the same day. February 22nd will bring Berryz Koubou’s Ai no Uta 8(However, Hello! Project’s site says “Ai no Album 8”). No other information on it yet.

Also in Berryz news, a new single will release on March 12th. It will be titled, Be Genki <Naseba Naru!>. There’s also a rumor stating that it’ll be a double A-side. That would be nice considering the costumes above!

One thought on “Quality Over Quantity

  1. Pingback: Recommended Reading – January 23rd, 2012 | International Wota

Leave a Reply

