Top! Series – Favorite Morning Musume Singles [Part VI]

WOO! Finally, another Top! Series post. This is like, super old so all the singles are as of Nanchatte Renai. Anyway, I hope you enjoy the 6th Top! Series: Favorite Morning Musume Singles (of all time).


10. Shouganai Yume Oibito [Helpless Dream Chaser]
The title itself is just inviting. After the ridiculous-ness I witnessed with the prior two singles(Naichau & Pepper), I wasn’t expecting much. But I still hoped Morning Musume couldn’t go much more downhill than that. And thankfully, my prayers were answered. Shouganai Yume Oibito is an extremely pretty song with strong lyrics. They’re talking about their lover having a dream they want to fulfill, but nothing is happening–and they don’t want to be dragged down along with it. 1, 2, 3 BREAKIN’ OUT is a cool, upbeat, and fun song filled with happiness. I love it alot, it’s just completely fun. As for the covers, they’re really beautiful. I like the gold and the outfits. Everyone looks outstanding as well. Both of the PVs are super awesome, too.


09. Namida ga Tomaranai Houkago [Tears That Won’t Stop After School]
Pretty old song, ne? I don’t think too many people would remember this song as easily as, say, Joshi Kashimashi Monogatari. Namida ga Tomaranai Houkago is a sweet ballad that has to do with a real love between two people. I love the lyrics–they just make so much sense and relates to real life. I wouldn’t believe anyone if they said they absolutely hated this song. The b-side, “Nebou desu. Date na no ni…”, is a nice song with cute lyrics. It’s basically about sleeping in before a date. I love the beat to this one and it’s soothing. I’m also sure someone could relate to it. I like the PV to Namida and the covers. It’s a very pretty single altogether.


08. Nanchatte Renai [Not-so-serious Love]
Nanchatte Renai is such an empowering song. I love it so much because of how addicting it is. The beat and rhythm is just beautiful and flows so well. I thought it was especially cool how Jun, Lin, Kusumi, Mitsui, and Michishige would just break out rapping just before the chorus. The first b-side Aki Urara is so cool! It has a splash of everything in there: little bit of rock, little bit of retro, little bit of pop. You especially have to love it because Linlin and Jun Jun are the leads at the verse parts. The beat is just killer and one of MM’s best b-sides. Subete wa Ai no Chikara is the poppiest song of the whole single. It has the genki, positive-ness all throughout. And wait…is that just me or is that like the first song of the 9-nin line-up where Takahashi didn’t get the first line!? It’s the apocolypse!! And…Niigaki like totally failed her last line. ROFL. I also totally love the PV to Nanchatte Renai–it has to be one of my favorite PVs by them. In the end, this is a really awesome single!


07. Ambitious! Yashinteki de Ii jan [Ambitious! It’s Good to be Ambitious]
One of my favorite songs from MM ever! Ambitious! Yashinteki de Ii jan tells you to be happy and live everyday to your fullest. It’s a cool and insiprational song. It has a pop tune to it but it has a different sort of beat to it. The PV is as cool as the song! Watashi ga Tsuiteru is questionable. I don’t know if I like it or if I hate it. I love the yellow on the covers, too.

 

06. Furusato [Hometown]

Now we’re really old-school. Furusato is one of the most beautiful songs Morning Musume has ever done. Abe may take the whole song, but she is the perfect one to do it. And it’s not like the modern-day leads of H!P, where even if it wasn’t that song, that person would have most of the songs anyway. It’s a powerful ballad–lyrics and song. Wasurerannai was very addicting after my first listen. It has such an old-school hip-hop beat that totally doesn’t fit their voices xD, but it’s still cool. Its lyrics explain a girl who’s taken sudden interest in a guy who also suddenly likes her. But she doesn’t feel right, so she tries to deny her feelings about him.  I really love it, it’s completely different. The whole single is totally great.

05. I WISH

The official graduation song of Morning Musume & Hello! Project. I WISH is a very beautiful song and it’s hard to ignore. It starts off slow and turns upbeat right before the chorus. Released during the Golden Era of Morning Musume, it’s a very popular song. The PV’s old but it shows an intangible gift of unity and love! Akogare My Boy is an urban-ish B-side to I WISH. It changes it’s speed and tempo many times during the song which makes it an interesting listen. Ai Kago and Nozomi Tsuji pretty much take the lead in this one, but you can barely guess who is who because their voices sound so strong. Very awesome single for the Golden Era.

04. Kanashimi Twilight [Sorrowful Twilight]

Kanashimi Twilight was Morning Musume’s 33rd single and was released right before I started getting into Morning Musume. It was also Yossy and Mikitty’s last single. Kanashimi Twilight is a strong rock song that shows Morning Musume’s power in vocals. Yossy and Mikitty obviously owned this one because they just took over and killed it. I like this song alot and I wouldn’t mind singing it 50 times. Hand Made CITY quickly became one of my favorite B-sides of Morning Musume. I don’t know why I like it so much, but it’s just cool. One thing that makes me love this single even more, is the outfits. I mean, who couldn’t love them?

03. Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~ [Mr. Moonlight ~Love’s Big Band~]

Mr. Moonlight is just pure genius. It’s fun, poppy, upbeat, and cool all in one. The PV is even more genius. You have Yoshizawa, Abe, and Goto playing the Misters and taking domain over the whole song. What fan wouldn’t love this? Popcorn Love is another favorite B-side of mine. It’s a perfect track to accompany Mr. Moonlight, because of the genki-ness of it all. Every solo line sounds amazing and cute. The lyrics are also very adorable. Overall, this single will keep you bobbing your head the whole time!

02. Iroppoi Jirettai [Sexy Impatience]

Iroppoi Jirettai was one of the first MoMusu songs I had ever listened too. I was so fascinated by it. I loved the flamenco beat and it had me singing it all day. I was definitely in love with this song in one listen. Ai to Taiyou ni Tsutsumarete was a similar case. It’s a cool contrast to the latin flavor of Iroppoi Jirettai. I listened to this song on repeat so much. The PV to Iroppoi Jirettai also had me in a trance. I thoought everything was so cool; the outfits, the dance, and the FIRE. I’ll never get tired of this single.

01. Manatsu no Kousen [A Ray of Light in Midsummer]

I don’t know what hooked me to this song so much. I just know that Manatsu no Kousen clocks in at number one on my favorite MM singles of all time. It’s so soothing and calm. It’s extremely peaceful and even though it’s old, I love the girls’ vocals here. And I adore Yuko’s voice even if she had no solos. Koi no Shihatsu Ressha is another peaceful song. It has a bit of a fun side to it and the other girls other than Abe take the lead in this song. I really love this single even if it’s over a decade old.

So that’s the end of today’s Top! Series. As you can see, I give mad props to the oldies of Morning Musume. And if I could only listen to newer music or older music from Morning Musume for the rest of my life, I would choose the old music. I don’t understand how anyone could not show love for the early music. You should call yourself a gay MM fan if you don’t–or even a fan at all! Till the next post, ~Kio.

Leave a Reply

