Hello! Project – Champloo 1 ~Happy Marriage Song Collection~ Review

I’m sure the title is some junk like that. Anyway, this album came out back on July 15th.
And without further ado, let’s start this review: Hello! Project – Champloo 1 ~Happy Marriage Song Collection~


01. DIAMONDS – High-King [Takahashi Ai, Reina Tanaka, Maimi Yajima, Saki Shimizu, Yuuka Maeda]
All right! So the album starts off with like the best sub-group ever, cool! Overall, it’s a really pretty song. It’s poppy but still maintains the 70’s discoesque and ballad style. It’s kind of a TakaReina show–Yuuka only says two words. I wish the song was distributed a little more, but either way it’s a catchy one.

02. Ai wa Katsu – C-ute & Erina Mano
Wasn’t too excited about this one but oh well, here goes. Okay so, they sound pretty okay in the beginning. I love how Erina is the only one to get a solo with her great voice. No I don’t. Wow, that Oh~ part with Maimi and Airi was herendous. Just. Ouch. NakaSaki and Chisa don’t sound too bad together–they actually blend pretty well. The song was really short and there was nothing to enjoy. It was really annoying & boring and the last line sounded just like everyone was shouting. Not very good.

03. YES-YES-YES – Aa! [Airi Suzuki, Miyabi Natsuyaki, Akari Saho]
I listened to this song on repeat like 50 thousand times when it was on my iPod. I definitely wanted to hear what they sounded like without Reina–and it really wasn’t that bad. They all blend really well and sound great. Akari fits in with them nicely. The song is very soothing and peaceful, which is why I had it on repeat so many times. xD


04. Tentoumushi no Samba – Shin Minimoni [LinLin, Kanon Fukuda, Akari Takeuchi, Miyamoto Karin]
At first I was a little sketchy about this group. You have these two little eggs that I’ve never heard before, Kanon who has a pretty okay voice, and LinLin who is one of the best singers in MM now & is rather deep. The group has a lot to live up to with their name having Minimoni in it. Well onto the song, ROFL. I’m not too sure how this qualifies as a marriage song–it sounds more like an opening to Yo Gabba Gabba Japan Version. Yes, yes it does. I can’t really tell if they blend well together because they have Tsunku covering them up but, the group kinda sounds a little like the original.

05. Kimi ga Iru Dake de – Pucchimoni V [Erina Mano, Saki Nakajima, Mai Hagiwara]
Ugh, this group really just irritates me. They have three of the worst singers of H!P(Erina making number 11). I really had no hopes for them and I still don’t. They’re named after Pucchimoni, they have to be SOME good. I like the song by itself, it’s a catchy lil tune–especially the chorus. But Nakajima and Mano are just >.< The only one who sounds kind of…GOOD is Mai. Which is also something I thought I would never say. She doesn't sound really annoying in this one, Mano does…alot. I like the song though, it's nice. The group? NO.


06. Heya to Y-Shirt to Watashi – Reina Tanaka
Woooot. Reinaaaa~! First off, the song is beauuutiful. I love the old-time Italian sound/circus sound of it. It’s so beautiful. Reina sounds really amazing as well. I think she hits each note perfectly, it sounds so…beautiful! The quiet parts really show off her real skill, and that she is a great singer. I love the second chorus with the extra beat, it’s really awesome. The whole song is beautiful.

07. Mamotte Agetai – Risa Niigaki & Eri Kamei
Yesss. Two of my favorite Morning Musumes! Yay!! This song is…questionable, lol. Something about the quieter parts remind me of Law & Order theme song… Both of them sound amazing though, if they just had a better song to sing. Well, that doesn’t matter, they both just sound amazing.

08. Aki Sakura – Ai Takahashi
It’s Takahashi so I wasn’t too enthusiastic but, gotta listen to it anyway. At first, the piano made it seem a little to dramatic. I dunno, something about the notes it was playing. I don’t really like how Takahashi is singing either. She sounds like there’s shit stuck in her throat. It sounds like she’s trying to sound deeper but it just isn’t working.

09. Mirai Yosouzu II – ZYX-a [Risa Niigaki, Koharu Kusumi, Momoko Tsugunaga, Maasa Sudou, Erika Umeda, Ayaka Wada, Saki Ogawa]
I was looking forward to this group but was let down when they all sang together the whole song. I really kind of wanted to hear seperate voices and listen peacefully without 8 voices yelling at me at once. The song itself is really beautiful. I definitely could see it being sung at a wedding(der). Totally love it.

10. ONLY YOU – Zoku v-u-den [Sayumi Michishige, Jun Jun, Risako Sugaya]
I was as pissed off with this line-up as Pucchimoni V. Sayumi and Jun Jun in the same group is ultimate fail. And Risako…makes it worse. She’s not totally bad, but…most songs she is. In this one, she doesn’t sound so bad. Barely off pitch, which is good. Sayumi just sounds bad like always. And Jun Jun doesn’t sound so bad either, just a little raspy. Together, I don’t know; Risako kinda overpowers all of them lol. I also don’t really know about v-u-den being in the group name…I mean, who’s gonna be Yui and her boobs??


11. akai sweet pea – Tanpopo# [Eri Kamei, Aika Mitsui, Yurina Kumai, Chisato Okai]
I was really excited about this group. It has three awesome singers and…Aika. Well anyway, I totaly love the song. It’s really, really pretty. They all blend perfectly too. I really love Eri and Chisato in this one. Yurina and Aika sound good. Really just a great song altogether.


12. for you… – Linlin
Whoa. Like. Whoa. Like…..Whoawhoawhoa. That gave me goosebumps. Linlin. Can sing. There’s is no person on this world that can say she cannot sing. Those long notes and perfect pitches. I just loved it. That was just beautiful Lin.


13. Kanpaku Sengen – Berryz Koubou & Erina Mano
Argh. Another Mano mix-up. Well, here goes. The song is…actually really weird. The lyrics are like wtf? Although, it’s a good way to hear how the girls sound now. Chinami sounds a lot deeper now. And honestly, the only ones that sounded decent were Maasa and Miyabi. Iuno what was up with those really high notes. They picked the worst people to sing those. Saki and Yurina? Come on. And the end was probably the best part of the song. Lala…lala…lalala…

14. Sekai wa Futari no Tame ni – Sayumi Michishige, Jun Jun, Koharu Kusumi, & Aika Mitsui
Not the best match-up, but I’ll manage. The song is really really pretty. Aika sounds pretty nice. And suprisingly, so does Koharu! I’m going crazy…Well anyway. Jun Jun sounds like she has something stuck in her throat. @_@ Probably the worst out of them all… Sayumi still sounds tone-deaf and actually worse than Koharu. Altogether, they sound a little strange. I dunno what it is about it, but they just sound a little weird altogether.

Whoo! Done! That was like the longest review ever. Hope you liked it! I’ll keep doing reviews of course, and I don’t really think they’ll be of singles anymore. I remember in my last blog I did single reviews, but I don’t really have enough patience to do every single that comes out. So really just albums and stuff. Also, today I will be introducing my new weekly series(hopefully), so look out for that! Bye bye! ~Kio

Leave a Reply

